African Independence Dates

African Independence Dates

Explore our comprehensive list of African nations and their respective independence dates, highlighting the historical milestones contributing to the continent’s sustainable development and self-governance journey.

Country Month Independence Date Prior Ruling Country
Cameroon January January 1, 1960 France
Sudan January January 1, 1956 Britain/Egypt
The Gambia February February 18, 1965 Britain
Mauritius March March 12, 1968 Britain
Morocco March March 2, 1956 France
Senegal April April 4, 1960 France
Sierra Leone April April 27, 1961 Britain
Togo April April 27, 1960 France
South Africa April April 27, 1994 Britain
Zimbabwe April April 18, 1980 Britain
Ethiopia May May 5, 1941 Italy
Madagascar June June 26, 1960 France
Seychelles June June 29, 1976 Britain
Congo (Kinshasa) June June 30, 1960 Belgium
Somalia July July 1, 1960 Britain
Rwanda July July 1, 1962 Belgium
Burundi July July 1, 1962 Belgium
Algeria July July 3, 1962 France
Cabo Verde July July 5, 1975 Portugal
Comoros July July 6, 1975 France
South Sudan July July 9, 2011 Sudan
Benin August August 1, 1960 France
Niger August August 3, 1960 France
Burkina Faso August August 5, 1960 France
Ivory Coast August August 7, 1960 France
Chad August August 11, 1960 France
Central African Republic August August 13, 1960 France
Congo (Brazzaville) August August 15, 1960 France
Gabon August August 16, 1960 France
Botswana September September 30, 1966 Britain
Eswatini (Swaziland) September September 6, 1968 Britain
Guinea October October 2, 1958 France
Nigeria October October 1, 1960 Britain
Uganda October October 9, 1962 Britain
Zambia October October 24, 1964 Britain
Angola November November 11, 1975 Portugal
Mauritania November November 28, 1960 France
Tanzania December December 9, 1961 Britain
Libya December December 24, 1951 Britain


Independence Spread Across Months

Independence dates are spread across the calendar year, with nations gaining independence every month from January to December. This indicates a diverse timeline of decolonization efforts across the African continent.

Common Colonial Rulers

The prior ruling countries vary, showcasing the colonial history of Africa. France and Britain are prominent among them, reflecting their extensive colonial empires in Africa during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Independence Dates

Independence dates range from the mid-20th century to the late 20th century, with some exceptions, such as South Africa and South Sudan’s independence in 1994 and 2011, respectively. This timeline coincides with the broader wave of decolonization that swept across Africa following World War II.

Regional Patterns

While not explicitly evident in this table, deeper analysis could reveal regional patterns in the timing of independence movements or commonalities in the colonial experiences of neighboring nations.

Legacy of Colonization

The prior ruling countries listed in the table highlight the enduring impact of colonization on African nations. Decades after gaining independence, many African countries continue to deal with the socio-economic and political legacies of colonialism.

Unique Cases

Some countries, such as Ethiopia and Liberia, were never formally colonized by European powers. Instead, they maintained their independence through diplomatic strategies and resistance efforts, showcasing the diversity of historical experiences within Africa.

Updated: June 8, 2024. If any information here is incorrect, please reach out.